DevilDriver Outlaws Til The End Vol 1 Album review

July 8, 2018 | By:

Image may contain: 5 people, people standing, beard and text

Photograph taken from the DevilDriver Facebook Page


Music lovers and fans of the astoundingly brilliant band DevilDriver are certainly in for a treat as full length album ‘Outlaws Til The End’ Vol 1 was released Friday 6th July 2018. With exciting guest appearances from artists like Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton and Randy Blythe as well as 36 Crazy Fists Brock Lindow this album has an array of collaborations making it truly exceptional. With Dez Fafara on Vocals, Mike Spreitzer and Neal Tiemann on Guitar, Diego Ibarra on Bass and Austin D’Amond on Drums DevilDriver are charging ahead with a completely unique album with sound’s not heard by this group before. Combining a rare gritty Country¬†element alongside a Heavy Metal genre this album is truly a game changer for these Alternative legends.

While listening to this new ground breaking album I was hooked from the very beginning, first track ‘Country Heroes’ featuring Hank III throws you into the album with a wild west theme sound introduction and melodic guitar backing. Suspense is built until the song progresses with intense guitar riffs and outstanding vocals with the song maintaining a fast tempo throughout. The ‘Outlaws Till The End Vol 1’ album held me captivated from beginning to end with every track introducing varied exciting elements showcasing the sheer talent each individual contributes to the band.
DEVILDRIVER front man Dez Fafara says:

“I’d like to [take this out on the road], I think we’re going to see what happens… if we can take it out and have some of these guests… it would be great. It’s basically based on giving the fans something fantastic in the meantime while they’re waiting on another record.”

Album guest Randy Blythe of Lamb of God adds:

“Absolutely. If we were able to do a live show, particularly with all of the people involved, all of the guest vocalists, I would be super pumped on it. I don’t think it would survive a tour, but a couple of shows would be a whole lot of fun… we could do a hell of a show for sure. I think it would be a lot of fun.”

Image may contain: night, plant and outdoor

Photograph taken from the DevilDriver Facebook Page

With a powerfully energetic twelve tracks ‘Outlaws Till The End Vol 1’ is one of the most exhilarative albums the band has made to date. The expressive and alluring tracks on this renowned album have been rebuilt from the ground up embodied with the classic DevilDriver sound while incorporating Fafara’s distinct and recognizable roar. Produced, mixed and recorded with Steve Evetts and co-produced by Devil Driver’s own guitarist Mike Spreitzer it was mastered by renowned engineer Alan Douches. The ‘Outlaws Till The End’ track listing goes as follows :
DEVILDRIVER Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1 track listing:
1. “Country Heroes”
Written by Hank Williams III
Performed by Hank3 & Dez Fafara
2. “Whiskey River”
Written by Johnny Bush and Paul Stroud; recorded by Willie Nelson
Performed by Randy Blythe, Mark Morton of Lamb of God & Dez Fafara
3. “Outlaw Man”
Written by David Blue; recorded by the Eagles
Performed by Dez Fafara & Neal Tiemann of DEVILDRIVER
4. “Ghost Riders in the Sky”
Written by Stan Jones
Performed by John Carter Cash, Ana Cristina Cash, Randy Blythe & Dez Fafara
5. “I’m the Only Hell (Mama Ever Raised)”
Written by Bobby Bobby Borchers, Wayne Kemp, Mack Vickery; recorded by Johnny Paycheck
Performed by Dez Fafara & DEVILDRIVER
6. “If Drinking Don’t Kill Me (Her Memory Will)”
Written by Harlan Sanders, Rick Beresford; recorded by George Jones
Performed by Wednesday 13 & Dez Fafara
7. “The Man Comes Around”
Written by Johnny Cash
Performed by Lee Ving of Fear & Dez Fafara
8. “A Thousand Miles From Nowhere”
Written by Dwight Yoakam
Performed by Dez Fafara & Neal Tiemann of DEVILDRIVER
9. “Copperhead Road”
Written by Steve Earle
Performed by Brock Lindow of 36 Crazyfists & Dez Fafara
10. “Dad’s Gonna Kill Me”
Written by Richard Thompson
Performed by Burton C. Bell of Fear Factory & Dez Fafara
11. “A Country Boy Can Survive”
Written by Hank Williams Jr.
Performed by Dez Fafara & DEVILDRIVER
12. “The Ride”
Written by J.B. Detterline Jr., Gary Gentry; recorded by David Allan Coe
Performed by Lee Ving of Fear & Dez Fafara

DevilDriver’s Outlaws Till The End Vol 1’ is certainly one album every fan should add to their collection.

No automatic alt text available.

Photograph taken from the DevilDriver Facebook Page